2003-10-01 :: 11:02 p.m.
the way the air has started to change

monoclimate and all, it's pretty clear fall is here. the days are noticeably shorter now; these days it's already getting dark by the time I meander home from work. and the early dark still throws me. I grew up in a cold and northern place, and I had always linked the short days of fall and winter with the cold. I can't get that association disconnected. after living in California for four years, I still think the days should stay long because the air is so much warmer here.

fall sometimes sets me with a restlessness I can't quite figure out. it's a skin-shedding, home-moving kind of restlessness that seems to come in waves each autumn. maybe it comes from the habits of school years, the itchiness for something promising and new that years and years of schooling sets into one's mind.

- - - :: + + +
:: email: :: design :: archives :: dLand ::