2004-01-23 :: 6:16 p.m.
making a stronger case for the solo go

I keep on forgetting that a "collaborative process" is not a thing that I am interested or very capable of participating in.

just like how I've forgotten a number of times that I hate living with roommates. (I mean, roommates who aren't my relative, my editor/colleague, and/or my longtime friend. that's what I mean by roommates.)

two weeks ago I started taking part in this dance production workshop, a collaborative workshop, that meets once a week and will produce a show in march. the whole thing has already begun to make me crazy. the people are mostly fine, and I want to learn this stuff, but the process is just so tedious. my inflexible belief that my way is right is sort of an impediment to successful collaboration. also causing trouble is my jerky tendency to dismiss people swiftly, such as when a handful of statements plus personal appearance make me certain that a fellow workshopper's dance aesthetic is the horrible, horrible stuff of shiny unitards and kitaro and dancing emotively with large ribbons. hiding my dread is exhausting, and tolerating the process is also difficult, and I really just hope I can pull through the experience 1: with a good piece, 2: with some decent self-production knowledge, and 3: without making five or six new enemies. this might be hard.

- - - :: + + +
:: email: :: design :: archives :: dLand ::