2003-10-12 :: 10:24 a.m.
sunday evening, eyes aburn

I've spent so much time on trains in the last days.

it's not bad time spent. I think some of my better thinking has been done on trains. certain trains. some of my better music-listening moments have been on trains. (the first album of mum should be required listening on a train at least once. you get it then.) I think there ought to be a subsection of the music store for transit music. music that makes more sense while in motion. I would clear out its bins. I would take it train riding with me.

I have wanted to live in Holland and ride the pert yellow trains between cities each day. listen to transit music as the sodden countryside skims past and the tugboats chug in the canal beside the traintracks.

there was a time when this seemed like an option, and thinking of it now rustles up dim mournfulness in me. that was where I would escape to.

there is nothing for me to escape now, and happy lists of reasons to stay, and why that brings a sadness I can't quite say.

- - - :: + + +
:: email: :: design :: archives :: dLand ::