2004-06-08 :: 11:39 a.m.
white sands coda (here and gone.)

I keep having these dreams about houses. each one is only partly inhabitable, with basements and hallways half-unbuilt and sort of treacherous, and with the other parts of the house inviting and lovely.

this morning as he drove me to work, I mentioned the dream to c, who thought it was about the dance piece I'm making (about homes, also half-unbuilt at present). I said I think it's a metaphor for my relationship with you. uninhabitable in parts. incompletely built. maybe a little treacherous, I joked.

I had set out to make this piece about home, about moving, about making homes and leaving them, and I can't keep focused on that. all I keep thinking about is the deserts and high plains of new mexico. once, for a fairly long time, I thought of that landscape as home. I lived there only briefly, several times temporarily, and travelled there often. I was tied to that place by a person whom I was in love with. at times I was in love with the place just as much. the person has departed my life quite completely, and the place is still anchored in my heart. I want to make a piece to say goodbye to it.

I have just two weeks so I'd better get cracking.

- - - :: + + +
:: email: :: design :: archives :: dLand ::