2004-01-18 :: 2:55 p.m.
the last time you'll ever eat my motherfucking baked potatoes or make me listen to your crappy homemade electronica

so my bad roommate, the one who steals my food, lies, and lets his drunk friends sleep in my bed, has now decided to be a real dick about my moving out. to be specific, he is insisting that it is my duty to pay rent until the end of next month. this is contrary to all practice and rental custom I have ever encountered in the past, as well as all information I can find in california civil procedure and renters rights. he insists that while I did give thirty days notice on the 16th that I'll be moving out by the 15th, I am "technically" obligated to cover rent until the end of that month. as he so politely pointed out after aggressively stating "I have your deposit," he will use my deposit money to pay for that month's rent. being a subleasor gives one few obligations and also few rights, and you kind of rely on the good will of the person on the lease, of which the dick roommate is the only one. so when acting as a proxy landlord as he is, the least he could do, as I see it, is abide by basic legal perameters laid out in california civil code. I'm not interested in this becoming complicated or legalistic, all I want is my deposit back, but I'm beginning to think I should make sure he knows: I have a posse and I will use it. I could find ten people right now who'd be happy to kick his ass to get my five hundred dollars back. among whom is my brother, who will be here next week and rips apart tree trunks for sport.
- - - :: + + +
:: email: :: design :: archives :: dLand ::